About this objectLarge pink granite monument at the Pioneers Park, Eugowra, to commemorate 100 years since George Evans had the first European expedition ‘beyond’ Bathurst in May-June 1815. Turning at a point south of Eugowra at the Mandagery Creek at which he blazed a tree. The monument is a four sided, 5 plaqued (1 sided has 2), 2 stage, large obelisk. Opened on the 29th September 1915 and a further plaque add in 2015.
The Evans Obelisk Monument at Eugowra was erected during a time of Australian nationalism in 1915. Australian troops, including those from Eugowra, were embedded in the Dardanelles & Gallipoli at the time of the unveiling in September. A group of locals formed a committee earlier in the year and got the project off the ground and to completion to commemorate George Evans exploration ‘beyond’ Bathurst and into the interior of Australia. In doing so, leading the first European expedition west of Bathurst. Evans reached the junction of the Mandagery Creek and Lachlan River before turning back to Bathurst in June 1815.
The monument is of local and national significance. It not only commemorates George Evans but also John Oxley, William Holmam and local pioneering families. It stands as a testament to the skills and determination of our early European explorers and pioneering families in the Eugowra district. Furthermore, to the next generation of community leaders who had the nous to not only honour those that went before but to celebrate and bring together the community during a testing time in Australian history.